Great Racing at Foyle GP

Thomas McLaughlin FCC General

A fantastic day’s cycling in Killea for Foyle Cycling Club saw over 180 riders from all across Ireland participate in the club’s annual GP. David Watson – Bikehouse CC followed up his win last weekend with victory in the Foyle GP A1-2 category race from a strong 12 man break group which included many of the top riders who had a 5 minute gap on the main bunch the decisive move was made on the final lap. Conor McCann – Inspired Cycling finished 2nd and Foyle Cycling Club’s own Ronan McLaughlin finished 3rd. The Bikehouse rider went on to dedicate the win to his former North Down CC club mate Gavin Moore who was tragical killed while riding his bike last week.

Donal Sheerin – Phoenix CC took the top spot in A3 after alone breaking away from the main bunch and gained a gap of 2 minutes on the line, Adrian McGregor Dunlop CC & Mitchell McLaughlin Planet X rounded out the podium. Maurice Sutherland – Foyle CC took top spot in A4 race with a strong break from the group on the final climb of Carrigans Brea and held off the chasers to the line, Sean McCourt – VC Glendale & Gareth McLaughlin – Bann Wheelers CC finished 2nd & 3rd front the bunch sprint. Lisa Lamont – Madigan CC took an impressive win in the women’s race distancing Jane Wilkinson – Bann Wheelers CC into 2nd on the final run to the line and Meta Johnston – Madigan CC finished third after a long stint chasing the leaders. In the final Master’s race Chris McCann – Phoenix CC took the win with a strong performance in the break and later sprinted away from Tommy Wilson – Ballymena CC and Sean Hargan – Phoenix CC finishing the podium.

A1-A2 Race

1 David Watson The Bikehouse CC
2 Conor McCann Inspired Cycling
3 Ronan McLaughlin Foyle CC
4 Kevin McKinney Armagh CC
5 Craig McAuley Caldwell
Unplaced A2 Kevin Lynch Newry

A3 Race

1 Donal Sheerin Phoenix
2 Adrian McGregor Dunlop
2 Mitchell McLaughlin Planet X
4 Dean Burnside Island Wheelers
5 Gordon Watt East Tyrone
Unplaced Junior Conal McKee Phoenix

A4 Race 

1 Maurice Sutherland FCC
2 Sean McCourt VC Glendale
3 Gareth McLaughlin Bann Wheelers
4 Sam McCauley SLCC
5 Glenn McDaid Inishowen Wheelers

Women’s Race

1 Lisa Lamont Madigan
2 Jane Wilkinson Bann Wheelers
3 Meta Johnston Madigan

Masters’s Race 

1 Chris McCann Phoenix
2 Tommy Wilson Ballymena
3 Sean Hargan Phoenix