Foyle Cycling Club Awards 2017

Thomas McLaughlin FCC General

Foyle Cycling Club celebrated a great year on Friday evening at its Annual Awards Dinner held in Bishops Gate Hotel, Derry. The Club had a number of significant successes to enjoy and Club Chairman, Simon Gill, played tribute to all those involved:

“Foyle Cycling Club endeavours to be the friendliest and most welcoming Cycling Club in the North West of Ireland. We are also capable of producing cyclists who can claim to be amongst the very best around. The Club won the Donegal Inter Club League for the for the second year in a row, Foyle Cycling Club rider Ronan McLaughlin represented Ireland in the ‘An Post Ras’ 2016 the toughest stage race in Ireland and in Japan at the ‘Tour de Hokkaido’ and won the 555km non-stop ‘Donegal Atlantic Way Ultra Race’ and Ryan Reilly won the Grand Prix Coanus and was 2nd overall in the ‘Tour de Haute’ stage race in France.”

“On this special evening I would like to pay tribute both to those who succeeded on the road and to those who made it possible – the Club volunteers who give up their time so that others can race and compete. The Club is only able to put on so many races because of these dedicated men and women and we are thankful to them. This is what tonight is all about.”

The Club continued to organise high profile races last year: including the Ulster Cyclo-Cross held over the Halloween weekend and the Ulster Road Race Championships held for the 2nd year in a row by the club. These great events and other long running events such as The Inishowen 100 gain the club great recognition and the award of ‘Cycling Ulster Club of the Year’

Gill continued: ““Foyle CC is extremely proud to be named Cycling Ulster Club of the Year 2016! This accolade follows hot on the heels of being nominated for Cycling Ireland Club of the Year 2016 and is testament to the efforts of our hard-working Committee and all of our many volunteers who helped us put on so many events this year. Catering for cyclists from 5 to 75, we have been able to put on Bike Skills Classes for Kids with Sprocket Rocket, Open Elite Races, Time Trials, Sportives, Club Runs, a high profile Cyclo-Cross Race and the Maiden City Criterium. This busy schedule has only been made possible by the teamwork of scores of people.”


Winners of 2016 Club Competitions

Time Trial League – Sammy McFadden

Road Race League – Thomas McLaughlin

3 Day Race – Larry McGowan

Inter Club Points – Mark McKinney

Improved Female – Aideen Campbell

Improved Female – Pauline Cosgrove

Most Improved Female – Deirdre McParland

Most Improved Male – John McGowan

Special Commendation Award – Evelyn Donnelly

Club Man of the Year – Fergal McGeady

Rider of the Year – Ronan McLaughlin